supporting Cambridge public school students

CSV Celebrates its Mack Davis Honorees!

From L to R: Supt. Jeffrey Young, Sharon McBride, Dan Dineen, Catherine Doyle, Catherine DeMaggio, Eve Loftus, Kris Newton, Faralove Raphael and Mayor David Maher

Kudos to all of the volunteers honored at the Mack I. Davis II Awards and Recognition Event held on May 13th! CSV celebrated its more than 900 volunteers who served in grades K-12 of the Cambridge Public Schools during the 2013-2014 academic year. Hosted by the Harvard University Office of Government, Community Public Affairs, the reception took place at the Gutman Library of the School of Education.

CSV co-presidents Beth Chiquoine and Sally Peterson welcomed the almost 150 volunteers and guests. They were followed by Mayor David Maher who also thanked CSV’s volunteers. Superintendent Dr. Jeffrey M. Young spoke eloquently, stating that while he appreciated the huge numbers of volunteers and hours donated this year, that we owed a special tribute to every “one” volunteer for their time and commitment, as this was really the basis for the important work done by CSV. Following his words, CRLS Senior Faralove Raphael sang the praises of the College Ready program and the Tutoring Center and the importance of the tutors there who helped her gain admission to UMass Boston. Faralove emigrated from Haiti only a few years ago.

Corporate Team awards were presented to the many local Cambridge companies whose employees have served as Reading Buddies, NetPals and KeyPals. Longevity awards were given to volunteers who have given five, 10, 15, and even 20 years of service through CSV (thank you, Louise Adler, on this awesome anniversary!). Several collaborating groups, to whom CSV provides administrative support, received awards as well.

Awards honoring the late Mack I. Davis II, a Harvard administrator with an extraordinary record of public service, including membership on the CSV Board, were then presented to the following outstanding volunteers: Catherine DeMaggio (Cambridge Systematics NetPal, Rindge Avenue Upper School); Daniel Dineen (Genzyme Reading Buddy, Fletcher-Maynard Academy); Catherine Doyle (College Ready and Tutoring Center, CRLS); Eve Loftus (Tutoring Center Peer Tutor, CRLS Class of 2014); and Sharon McBride (Early Literacy Program, MLK, Jr. School). In addition, the Kenneth S. Neal Award was presented to teacher Kris Newton, for her dedication and service as coach of both the Science and Science Olympiad teams at CRLS.

Congrats to all for their dedication and passion for volunteering with the students of the Cambridge Public Schools. CSV salutes you!